Dear Diary: My evolution with magazines

The excitement I get when I pick up a magazine at my local corner store or newsagency excites me, because even though they give me a little hint of what’s going to be in the month’s issue, I always seem to be surprised by an article or a story or even some makeup and beauty tips that I’ve never heard of before.

Dating back circa early naughties, I was obsessed with magazines (still kind of am) being a young teen back then, I loved magazines like Total Girl, where no Boys were allowed and even K-zone just for one column which was about the latest movies that were about to come out. As I grew older, I moved onto magazines like Dolly and Girlfriend, which I admit, even though I am in my early twenties I may just MAY tend to pick up that issue if I really like what I see on the cover. Nowadays it’s all about Cosmo and Cleo, which I still cannot decide which one I like better, I always tend to buy them BOTH!

TOP to BOTTOM: Girlfriend, SHOP till you drop, CLEO, COSMO

TOP to BOTTOM: Girlfriend, SHOP till you drop, CLEO, COSMO

I have a massive stack of magazines in my room that I just cannot get rid of, I mean some people say hoarder, but I say COLLECTOR. Everytime, with no fail, I tell myself, it’s time to let go and move on from the old magazines that you’ve had sitting there for over 4 years now, Caroline, Β I just cannot do it. Even though it breaks me just a little bit on the inside to cut up a page or tear something from it, I always think that my old magazines will come in handy for scrap booking or just reading what was happening back then.

I also think it’s because I’ve always loved every single part and development of how a magazine was made. The thought process, the planning, I mean come on, I am THE organisation freak and one of my dreams was always to be fortunate enough to write for a magazine one day and for me the closest thing to that was and is my blog and here I am working out what I want to do through this blog.

I always see magazines as a learning tool, like textbooks and self help books, especially because I’ve started a new job now which requires me to basically have a whole lot of knowledge about the beauty industry, I like to keep myself up to date with the new crazes and the benefits of products and basically just to know my stuff and magazines Β are a part of my learning process.

Anyways, I will speak to you guys soon and until next time..

Byeee! xx.

P.S Have you seen my pretty and colourful picture on Instagram yet? Ooo what is it, check it out here.

P.P.S Let me know some of your favourite magazines on Twitter here.

Any thoughts or comments, leave me one, or some.

