My types of face powders

For those who suffer from the forever annoying problem we call oily skin, I feel your pain. Of course, having oily skin isn’t always a bad thing, but there are those days where you just wish you weren’t that shiny. The solution: A whole lot of powder.

I wanted to share the difference between translucent powders and pressed powders and what each is best for.

Before we start off, I have combination oily skin meaning that my forehead, nose and chin area (the T-zone) are oily and my cheek area is dry. I tend to set my makeup mainly just on the T-zone because that area can get shiny!

When you think of powders, you immediately jump to the fact that it’s absorbing. Have you ever gone in for a leg wax and baby powder has been sprinkled over your skin before waxing? This helps to absorb any oil or sweat in the area so the wax is able to grip onto the hairs better.

For the face, we use powders to mattify the skin and overall just to take that shine away. Here is where a lot of people get confused and can get overwhelmed with all the different powders out there. Remember this:

  • Translucent powders – as the name entitles, is translucent meaning once applied has no colour whatsoever and its sole purpose is just to control shine and absorb the oil on the skin. It normally comes in a loose powder form, the powder is always white, but once dusted onto the skin, should not alter your foundation or give your skin any extra colour.
Ben Nye Neutral set Colorless Face powder, my love since day 1

Ben Nye Neutral set Colorless Face powder, my love since day 1

Australis ready set go finishing powder in true translucent

Australis ready set go finishing powder in true translucent

  • Pressed powders – will absorb oil and control shine but also give the skin added colour. Think of it as a  mineral foundation for oily skin. You’ll see that they usually come in light or medium or dark, there is always a shade of colour in it.
Australis fresh & flawless pressed powder

Australis fresh & flawless pressed powder

Australis fresh & flawless pressed powder in deep natural, much loved pressed powder as you can tell

Australis fresh & flawless pressed powder in deep natural, much loved pressed powder as you can tell

I love my translucent powder and cannot live without it during summer. You’ll find that if you have foundation on already and set it with translucent powder, your foundation won’t go blotchy when you start sweating or your makeup starts moving.

I’ve noticed with my skin that when I use pressed powders to set my foundation or give my skin a little bit more colour, I see blotchy makeup by the end of the day, especially around my nose and mouth area because I am a serious sweater in the summer.

Also with setting any foundation with powders, I find it best to press the powder in with a makeup puff and then just go over again by dusting my face with a blending brush to make sure it’s all pressed in.

Hope this helps clear up any confusion and I will have a blog up here again, soon.

Byeeeee! xx

Any thoughts or comments, leave me one, or some.

