My types of makeup brushes

Okay, so it is true, a makeup artist can never have too many brushes! Whenever I receive new makeup brushes I get so incredibly happy that I thank them, jump up and down, maybe squeal a little, hug them to death and well I’m pretty much like that whenever I get ANYTHING makeup and beauty related.

I wanted to share with you guys what makeup brushes work best with the different types of products out there.

I have been a solid fan of Royal & Langnickel since I received my very first set of makeup brushes when I was studying makeup. It has stuck by me through the good and bad times, the mistakes, the creativity and I love them till death do us part, or whenever they’ve decided to no longer want to be with me, a.k.a broken.

The particular set that I have is the Brush Essentials and I can tell you now, you need them, you need them ALL. Unfortunately I never received all of them in the particular set I bought, however the brushes in my opinion aren’t too expensive, they range from $2 to $10, so if I wanted the complete collection, it’s affordable.

They have a mixture of synthetic hairs and natural hairs, the most common would be pony hair for your fluffy brushes.

To avoid heartache and frustration whenever you’re doing your makeup and to stop the whingeing about why on earth is her eye makeup still so good and still on her eyes, remember this:

  • Natural hair makeup brushes (or fluffy brushes as some people call them) are perfect for your powder products. Eg) powder eye shadows, blushes and bronzers. You’ll find that they will be so much easier to blend and disperse around the eyes or cheeks.
  • Synthetic hair makeup brushes are better used on cream products such as cream eyeshadows, concealers and lipsticks.
Natural hair makeup brushes

Natural hair makeup brushes

Synthetic hair makeup brushes

Synthetic hair makeup brushes

If you do try to use synthetic hairs to apply powder eye shadows for example, yes, it will still allow the colour to transfer onto the eyes, but you’ll also find that it won’t blend as easy and the product doesn’t stay on as long. Same goes for natural hair makeup brushes, the pigment from the cream products won’t disperse evenly onto the brush, of course you can still do it that way, just be an amazing blender.

Now there are just heaps of makeup brushes everywhere, they’re constantly innovating  makeup brushes and the hairs that are used, it’s crazy and so interesting and fun to learn about. Maybe I’ll get my hands on some new ones at IMATS this year.

By the way, if you happen to not find what you’re looking for via the search bar, leave me a comment and I’ll get back to you as soon as I can and try my best to answer any questions you may have.  

Have a great day ladies and gents, hope this blog post was informative and fun to read and look at my pictures and yeah!

BYEE!!! xx

2 thoughts on “My types of makeup brushes

Any thoughts or comments, leave me one, or some.

