O.P.I mariah carey mini liquid sand nail polish

If you follow my instagram, I posted a picture of a belated birthday gift that consisted of O.P.I mariah carey mini liquid sand nail polish.

This is a part of her Christmas 2013 nail polish range, the particular one I received contains 3 different colours, Emotions (black), It’s frosty outside (silver) and Kiss me at midnight (blue).

O.P.I mariah carey liquid sand nail polish

O.P.I mariah carey liquid sand nail polish

When I first saw this I was like oh man my nails are going to be super sparkly, which I LOVE and then the next thing I thought of was statement nails, nail art and then the sad conclusion it’s going to be so hard to remove.

I love the colours in this specific trio, the black is always a classic especially when adding glitter to it, it makes it look like the midnight sky, the silver is just perfect for a bright and icy look and lastly the blue which caught my eye as it takes guts to wear blue nail polish. I know a lot of people freak out and just do not want to wear it because it’s a colour that doesn’t look great on everyone (or so they tell me) but for me I LOVE IT!

This nail polish dries to a matte finish and is very textured, meaning you can feel the bumps from the glitter and it also recommends that you DO NOT use top coat after applying 2 coats onto your nails. Whilst applying the first coat my initial thought was it definitely needs two coats to really stand out. After the second coat, it really brightened up and I was happy with how it looked. However on the box, the silver polish in particular is a lot more dull than what it really is on the nails, which for me was fine because I prefer the brighter silvers anyway, but if you liked the dark grey on the box, it’s not that colour at all.

in It's frosty outside LEFT: one coat RIGHT: two coats

in It’s frosty outside
LEFT: one coat RIGHT: two coats

So you’re probably wondering how long did these last on my nails. My answer is, about a week. I can definitely tell that it has faded but it is also very impressive without a topcoat. During the second day, a little bit of the polish chipped off but I’m willing to let that go because my nails are at the very last stages of recovering from artificial nails, meaning they haven’t been as healthy and are really thin. Of course it saddened me that it chipped, but I really loved that if you just wanted to go over a particular area on your nail, the colour blended in quite well because of the texture. Unlike your other polishes they have to look sleek and smooth and if it were to chip and you were to fill it back in, it would be noticeable.

RIng finger: NATIO nail colour in WONDER

THE FINISHED PRODUCT
Ring finger: NATIO nail colour in WONDER & OPI in pink yet lavender

Nails after after one week on LEFT hand

Nails after after one week on LEFT hand

Overall I’m really impressed with how long it lasted without a top coat, I only used a base coat and then applied 2 coats of the polish and it dried fairly quickly as well. Winner product for me!

 

Any thoughts or comments, leave me one, or some.

