Dear diary: Brunch! the meal you go to when you don’t want to eat alot..

..NOT!

Despite the non stop rainy days this weekend, I still managed to get out and have the weather hold before the downpour of rain hit Sydney. Just goes to show, sometimes you need to get up early in order to enjoy the best part of the weather.

Trying out new coffee and food places in general can be a hit or miss, it all depends on how daring you are to try out new foods or places you wouldn’t regularly go to.

Decided to go cafe hopping and first stop, a very cute little place called The Wedge Espresso in Glebe, which literally was wedged in a street corner, hence the name.

The Wedge espresso

The Wedge espresso

I love my coffee and it was sad to say that I didn’t enjoy my coffee that much, but for a small cappucino that was $3,50 AUD, it’s a pretty good bargain for a coffee. Β However, in areas they lacked they definitely made up for in food. I had what they called The Henry, which consisted of a smashed egg, double smoked ham, avocado, gruyere, smoked chipotle mayo, basil and rocket on a toasted panini. This was absolutely amazing, the first bite, had me wanting more.

The Henry

The Henry

I really enjoyed the food there, the service was great! There’s nothing better than people who serve your coffee in the morning that smile and are friendly because coffee is basically like the first drink of the day and especially if you’re not a morning person, you don’t want your day to start off badly with bad service. So yeah, definitely would LOVE love LOVE to go back to this place.

Second stop was The French House in Waterloo and words can’t even describe how french patisserie esque this place was. The chandeliers, the dim lighting, the lounge chairs, the cutlery, like WOW. The ambiance and the whole feel of this place was what I really loved about it. Serving Campos coffee beans which is nice and strong for you coffee lovers, very pretty pastries and toasted sandwiches for you hungry ones. It had beautiful outdoor seating where I could picture where I would definitely be on a nice sunny day.

The French House

The French House

Of course after my amazing breakfast, I just grabbed my absolute favourite dessert, apple crumble. The apples in this were crazy fresh and the crumble was so soft and melted in my mouth. A little disappointing with the ice cream that came with it, it was way too watery for my liking. Coffee was beautiful here, however the pastry was quite sweet so maybe next time, I’ll grab a tea with my sweets instead.

TOP: Chai latte BOTTOM: Mocha

TOP: Chai latte
BOTTOM: Mocha

 

Apple crumble tart

Apple crumble tar

If you look closely at the picture above, captioned The French House, there’s a little doggy there, which had the locals coming in with their pets, which did not bother me at all. I thought it was really cute and the dogs were so well behaved.

Overall, two very cute places I’m glad I tried.

Also, follow my picture diary (instagram) at @lalalinee_ for some photos you probably haven’t seen and that I put up there or twitter @ lalalinee, to check out what I will be up to everyday. =)

Lots of love, stay warm , it’s freezing right now and don’t get sick from all this rain!

 

Any thoughts or comments, leave me one, or some.

